Bits and Pieces

Liebster Award…continued.

This could be my little tradition: I’ll just start every post with an apology for how long it took me to sit down and write it. I really thought I would get around to the second part of the post before too long but apparently…not. In my defence though: the new semester started this week and I was crazy busy all of a sudden. Not convincing? Doesn’t matter – let’s just get into it, shall we?

 (leftover) RULES:

  • Answer the 11 questions from the blog who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers to receive this award.
  • Come up with 11 questions for your nominees!

Shannon’s questions:

1. What was your favourite book as a kid?

Wow…that’s bin a sort of longish time by now. I don’t think I actually had a favourite book. Instead I had a favourite book series – does that count? I loved reading about the adventures of TKKG (for those who aren’t familiar: it’s a German series about junior detectives who go on adventures and solve crimes)

2. What is your favourite classic? (if you read them) 

What’s a classic? Do modern classics count? If they do, one of those would probably be my favourite. If we’re talking about classic CLASSICS…I do read them (I often have to for uni) and I don’t dislike reading them either. However, they do tend to be a bit…long. Having said this I’d probably go with a Gothic novel because they tend to be a bit more exciting: Dracula maybe? Or Frankenstein?

3. What are you currently reading?

Nothing. I just finished Don DeLillo’s Underworld (long but great read, I’m still trying to wrap my head around it, but definitely expect a review in the near future!) and have not yet picked up a new book. I did however spend today book shopping (from home – thanks, Amazon) and ordered some novels I’ll be studying this semester (The Last of the Mohicans, Native Son and No Country for Old Men) as well as some light reading (the Crossfire series). Don’t hate me – I do need some easy reads on the side and I keep hearing that this series is a lot better than Shades of Grey, which was just excruciating to read!

4. Why did you start a book blog?

Because I like reading and I want to challenge myself to write more. And because this is a topic I actually enjoy talking about – nobody would want to read my blog about gardening because I wouldn’t have anything to say about that. 😉

5. What is your favourite contemporary author?

Do we have to play favourites? How about a compromise: I’ll give you a list:

  • Bret Easton Ellis
  • Chuck Palahniuk
  • Gillian Flynn

I like authors who are controversial, who challenge existing norms, modes of writing and styles / genres and who are modern in exactly that sense.

6. How big is your “to-read” pile?

Very. As I said: the beginning of a new semester tends to imply that there’s an ever growing stack of books piling up on my desk.

7. Which book have you re-read more than 3 times? If any?

More than three times? Huh. I can only think of books that I’ve read exactly three times: The Bluest Eye and Paradise, both by Toni Morrison. Aaaaand I just realised: RE-reading something would mean that I read it four times in the end, right? In that case: none.

8. What is your favourite genre? 

This one goes back to #5: I don’t think I necessarily have one, but I do tend to prefer anything a bit unconventional.

9. Who is your ultimate favourite author?

Favourites? Again? Really? I don’t have one. I find it hard to pick a favourite. Maybe that’s because I mostly try to read works by a large variety of authors to get an overview? The only authors I actually end up reading more extensively are for the most part either those who publish their books in serial format or those I actually studied in a course that was devoted to their work.

10. If you could be friends with a fictional character who would it be? 

That’s a difficult one! Most characters that are actually interesting have some very obvious flaw that would probably not be very desirable in a person I want to be friends with. And the less interesting characters, who would probably be nicer, would most likely be a bit boring. So…none really? Except if it could be a character from my children’s books and I could be about half my age again – in that case I would love to run around with TKKG solving crimes. 🙂

11. If you had to choose a fictional partner (boyfriend or girlfriend) who would it be?

I think I prefer a real partner, thank you very much. But – if I had to choose one, I think I’d go with someone who is just extremely hot and ignore anything personality related as I really don’t think I’d want to deal with the character flaws and the emotional baggage of a fictional person (the interesting ones all have them and again: don’t make me choose between fucked up and boring!). It’s a fantasy, so I’m allowed to do that, right? 😉

My Nominations

How long has this been around and who hasn’t done it yet? (multiple times in some cases) I don’t want to make anyone re-do this who’s already been tagged a couple of times, but if you read this and haven’t done this yet, I’m happy to add you to my (very short) list – just leave a comment below 🙂

Having said this, here’s my list:

My Questions

  1. What was the best book you read in 2014?
  2. What’s the worst book you ever read?
  3. Can you think of a book that was made into a film that did it justice?
  4. Favourite book series?
  5. Which fictional character can you relate to (most)?
  6. Name one fictional character that made you want to punch them.
  7. Most recent book purchase?
  8. Amazon or book store?
  9. Do you keep a diary?
  10. Did you ever visit a particular place / country because it’s the setting of a favourite novel of yours?
  11. Name a / some of the book(s) that you’ve read more than once.

This is a hell of a long post so kudos to whoever managed to make it through!

Thank you again, Shannon – this was a lot of fun! 😆

If you like, feel free to share some of your answers to my questions in the comment section! 

Leave a comment - I'd love to hear (read) what you think!

