Bits and Pieces · Rants

Momentarily Speechless.

Waking up and looking at my phone this morning was no fun. The votes have been counted and the result is devastating. I’m speechless. This is not what I was expecting. This is not OK.

I remember being asked the following question as a child (I think they were surveying the world views of those that grew up in a relatively united European Union):

Do you feel like a citizen of the European Union?

I also remember not understanding the question, because…What? I thought I’m German. I’m a citizen of the European Union now? Huh. I didn’t even feel like a German citizen – what does that even ‘feel’ like?

I never felt more German than during my year abroad in England.

And I never felt more European than this morning when I woke up to the news of Great Britain leaving the EU. I feel like someone’s pulled the rug out from under my feet. I knew that there was a possibility that this would happen, but it became obvious to me this morning that I hadn’t fully believed in that possibility before it suddenly became a reality.

Sure the ‘Inselaffen’ (Island monkeys), as we occasionally lovingly call our neighbours, were always a bit weird. The driving on the wrong side of the road (yes, I said it: wrong), the weird currency (seriously, why doesn’t the size of your coins correspond to the coin’s value?), etc.

One of my most exciting experiences to this day is spending two semesters at the University of Surrey on an Erasmus programme. Arrangements like this will be a lot more difficult for future generations of students who want to study in the UK – and, obviously, vice versa.

Speaking of which: Having been abroad as well as studying English Literature means that I had the privilege to meet and become friends with some amazing British people, all of which – to my knowledge – will not be happy about the outcome of  the referendum. I want to send out some hugs to all of you. This sucks and I guess we’ll have to wait and see what consequences it will bring.

No Questions today, just needed an outlet and to share my feelings about this. However, you’re more than welcome to leave your thoughts on the matter in the comments.

Have a nice the least shitty day you could possibly have after this today!

~ Josie

2 thoughts on “Momentarily Speechless.

  1. While you didn’t feel it was a possibility, it seems like the leave campaigners didn’t really believe it either. In fact, it appears that there was not plan for after the referendum either way.

    Like

Leave a comment - I'd love to hear (read) what you think!

