Rants · Reviews

Moyes, Jojo: Me Before You (2012)

A little warning: if you’re expecting a review, you’ll be greatly disappointed. I did not write a review tonight because a) there’s just no way I’m objectively reviewing anything right now (because all my reviews are always extremely objective…yeah, right…) and b) because I wouldn’t know what to say without giving too much away.

As I am typing this, it is nearly two in the morning and I am unable to sleep and mad. No, maybe not mad, but definitely emotional. I’d say I’m sad, but that doesn’t really cover it, mad is actually more like it.

I went to bed about three hours ago, thinking I’d spend half an hour reading before I’d nod off. What can I say – this book didn’t let me go. After every chapter I was trying to reason with myself, thinking that I should probably sleep, but I always found that I would only toss and turn anyway if I didn’t know what was going to happen next, which is really no use, is it? Also, I told myself that I’d eventually just get tired enough, so that the worst that could happen would be my head crashing into my kindle as I’d fall asleep reading.

So making me stay up late is offence number one. Offence number two is making me cry. Now that’s not a rare thing to happen to me: I’m quite easily moved to tears. But this was different.* I cried so much that I got dangerously close to flinging my kindle against the nearest wall just to make. it. stop. Now don’t lecture me, please – I know that this is neither a reasonable nor a very mature response to pretty much anything.

*And ‘cry’ is actually a bit of an understatement – sob uncontrollably is more like it

You can probably tell by the fact that I’m writing this post in the middle of the night that I finished the book by now. I ploughed through a good third of it in the last couple of hours, which made for a very intense experience I suppose – I can’t imagine what it’ll feel like to watch the film based on Me Before You that came out earlier this year, and to have all of it condensed into a mere 110 minutes. I was planning to see if it was still on in the cinemas, but I’m slowly rethinking this idea – I don’t think I want to be seen in public after watching this!

To be completely honest: I don’t even know where I’m going with this post (just in case you hadn’t guessed as much already). Right now, I can’t rightfully say I liked the book very much. However, I will be heading over to goodreads as soon as I finished writing it to award the book a five star rating, based on the fact that Me Before You has to be an extraordinary book if it can overrule my sanity like that.

Usually I’d be telling everyone I know to pick up this novel asap, but I kinda feel like that would be the equivalent of telling them to drive a rusty nail into their foot, just because I stepped on one and I can’t bear to be alone in my misery. Unless you’re into that kind of thing – in that case: please go ahead, let me know when you’re finished so we can start a support group.

PS: Writing helps. I feel like I actually potentially might be able to get to sleep now. 😉


Have you read Me Before You? Did you like it? Would you recommend it?

Have you seen the film? (And, if you’ve also read the book: is it equally as heart wrenching?)

2 thoughts on “Moyes, Jojo: Me Before You (2012)

  1. I saw the movie on Sunday (without previously reading the book). Oh my God!! The audience simply could not get up in the end. The movie is over and everybody is still sitting in their seats sobbing, waiting for something to happen… for something to change. I felt devastated that evening, I simply could not let the thoughts go. Plus, the movie indeed condensed much of the storyline (as expected). I also read that many people are really angry because of the way it ends. Well, it’s a controversial topic. Anyways, I would recommend watching the movie! But bring enough tissues.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Aleksandra! Thank you for commenting!
      It’s rare for a story to make me sad and angry at the same time. And I can’t even say I’m angry with the author for writing what she wrote. I know there’s a lot of controversy surrounding the topic, but I actually liked the way she presented it and I think she made some valid points. However, I can also understand when people take offence, I’m just not one of them.
      I’ll definitely watch it – but I’ll be prepared. And I think the film version will probably be rather good. Of course they’ll condense some things, but the novel’s plot is not that complex and I think 110 minutes will be plenty of time to tell the story without loosing anything important. (I hope)

      Like

Leave a comment - I'd love to hear (read) what you think!

