Bits and Pieces

Favourite Books Review Series

Last week I came across the following message in my facebook timeline:

WANTED: Participants for a book-loving social experiment. Comment if you want to participate and I’ll send you details. What do you have to do? Buy your favourite book and send it to a stranger (I’ll send you a name and address.) You will only be sending one book to one person. The number of books you will receive depends on how many participants there are. The books that will show up on your door are the other people’s much loved stories #SaveTheCulture#BookExchange#LongLiveBooks 

Am I in? I don’t know – does Kellogg’s still sell cornflakes? Of course I’m in!

I replied to the post and got a pm shortly afterwards. I was told the name and address of the person I was supposed to send the book to and I was informed about the basic rules of the exchange. The way it works is that you’re not technically sending your favourite book to a complete stranger, you’re sending it to a friend of a friend. Surprisingly enough it seems to work out so that in most cases people still actually don’t know each other.

The book I sent was Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk. I was going to take this opportunity to finally write a review about this fabulous book, but as it happens I don’t currently have my copy of it at hand. That’s what happens if you really like a book though, right? You lend your copy to somebody because they asked for a book recommendation and it’s the perfect opportunity to get them to read your favourite book.

Anyway, since the review isn’t happening for now, the only point of this post will be to vent my excitement about the book exchange – seriously: it’s such a great idea and I’m very much looking forward to reading people’s favourite stories – and to announce that there’ll be a themed mini review series on the blog in the not so distant future where I plan to discuss the favourite books that reach me during the exchange.

I already received one book. It sat in front of my door yesterday when I got home from uni, and its arrival definitely brightened my day! So the first instalment of my favourites series will be The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, which is perfect, because I’d heard of this book before – and only good things as far as I recall -, but I never got around to picking up a copy for myself.


Have you ever participated in something similar? Care to share your experience?

If you have to pick just one (I know it’s hard!): What’s your favourite book?

One thought on “Favourite Books Review Series

Leave a comment - I'd love to hear (read) what you think!

