Bits and Pieces

Life Update: Endings & New Beginnings

*Insert obligatory apology for absence from blog here*

Really though, I have been incredibly busy, which is why I decided to write an update post about my boring little life rather than provide you with the book review that you probably came here for. Oh well…

Anyway, here’s my excuse for not updating the blog in forever and still owing several book reviews that I promised to write:

I handed in my thesis in May and I passed my final oral exam last Tuesday, which means that I finally truly deserve the pen name I’m using on the blog, ‘Literature Mistress’, as that exam was the last thing that stood between me and an MA degree in English Literature and Linguistics. Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ (Really, no words can express how relieved I am to finally be done with everything – it’s a huge weight off my shoulders, which is why you should probably imagine an overly loud and shrill celebratory squeal accompanying this announcement.)

As if that wasn’t enough reason to celebrate, I also got extremely lucky, because I already know what I will be doing next. I was offered a trainee position at a major publishing house and I’m starting TOMORROW!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ *Insert repetition of abovementioned squeal here*

I don’t think I’ll have to rename my blog though, as I’m sure that enough people will continue to ask me that annoying question (“What does one do with that?”) once they learn that I hold an MA degree in Literature. However, the prospect of being asked this question appears significantly less daunting now that I can provide an actual answer to it.

I had a total of five days off between finishing my MA on Tuesday and starting a full time job tomorrow, which is great compared to the prolonged period of job hunting, rejection, and disappointment that I’d been expecting – ever the optimist, I know. However, it is also slightly stressful and gave me little opportunity to adjust to the idea of not being a student any longer.

After being a student for nearly eight years, it feels extremely weird to move away from thinking of myself as a student. I’m sure my first paycheck will help me adjust to this new reality rather quickly, but in the meantime I’m actually feeling slightly lost.

Being a student makes it incredibly easy to meet new people and survive introductions, as most people have some kind of idea of what it is a student does – however accurate that idea might be. Even if asked to go into further detail, conversations about a student’s occupation usually end with the student mentioning which subject they study and then maybe being asked what that particular subject might be good for (“What does one do with that?”), if that particular subject happens to be a humanity.

Being a student provides an identity that is relatively easy to slip on and feel comfortable in, which is why a part of me is currently mourning the loss of this identity, while the rest of me is excited about starting something new, turning the page, and writing the next chapter.

I guess I will get to know a little more about what this next chapter of my life might look like tomorrow when I finally meet my new coworkers and get acquainted with the office environment I’ll be working in. Right now my excitement is mixed with feelings of apprehensiveness:

  • What will my coworkers be like? Will I like them? …Will they like me??
  • Will I adjust well to working a full time job?
  • Where will I work? Will I like my office? Will I have an office? Who will I be sharing an office with? Will I like them? …Will they like me??
  • What will the dress code be like? Will I be over- or underdressed on my first day?
  • And finally: What will the cafeteria be like? (That’s important! It’ll be my only food source near/at my workplace and I’m still traumatised from years of eating university cafeteria food that featured atrocities such as “three kinds of surprises” <- yes, really!)

I thought about the future of this blog now that I’ve finished studying, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m going to keep it. Working a full time job means that my schedule will be much less flexible, which will make it harder to find time to write. However, it also means that there’s a clear end point to my work day, which I hope will free up enough mental space for me to make better use of the free time that I do have. I’m also trying to figure out a way to use my commute (~ one hour each way) as writing time, but so far the prospect of either having to carry a laptop with me or having to write on a touch screen seems daunting. πŸ˜•

Thanks for stopping by to read my ramblings today. I hope I will be back with a review of ‘Cryptonomicon’ soon, just maybe don’t hold your breath… πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment - I'd love to hear (read) what you think!

